Galston Gorge

Today I managed to get out for about 5 minutes with the camera to try my hand, gear and post processing at stitching a panarama. The aim of the trip was just to take a couple of quick panarams of whatever I found in a very short amount of time. I decided to go to the top of a local bush area called Galston Gorge. Galston Gorge is part of Berowra Valley Bushland Reserve situated in between Hornsby and Galston. It is well known in the area and either loved or disliked due to the winding road that makes the path between the two suburbs. Having grown up been driven through, and eventually driving through, I love the gorge.

I am including two photos in this post. The first, my first effort at stitching a panarama. This a three shot stitch done using photoshops Photomerge. Whilst slow (not the programs fault) did everything really well. Personally I cannot pick any stitch lines (and I know where they should be). This shot, whilst it wasn’t meant originally to be artistic, rather a quick test 25m from the road, to me illustrates fairly well what the typical bush land around my area is. In the photo you can even see the merge between the suburbian grass and weeds such as fish bone fern and the dry sclerophyll forest. This was taken with the 1ds, 17-40 (24mm), 3 shot stitch, f8, 1/40.

panarama-horiz-small

The second shot Ill include was a chance encounter. Whilst taking the panarama I noticed a scuffling noise. Upon investigation I found a young echidna. Echidnas, more precisely short-beaked echidnas (Tachglossus aculeatus) are Australia’s most wide spread mammal. Recent reading has revealed to myself that there are actually a couple of different types of echidna and they are found in both Australia and Papau New Guinea. To my knowledge the Short-Beaked Echidna is the only one of four species to be found in Australia. Echidnas are in a special group of mammals called Monotremes. Montremes are different from other mammals in that they lay eggs. There are only two types of animals in this family, echidnas and the platypus. Echidnas are insectivores eating ants, termites and other small invertebrates. When startled echidnas bury themselves leaving only their sharp spines above the ground as a deterence to anything that would try and eat them. This behaviour allowed me get close and prep for my shot. By lying very still I convinced the echidna to think I was gone, in doing so he put up his head to look around giving me my shot. After looking around and apparently not feeling too threatened by me, he walked off. This was taken with the 1ds, 17-40 (40mm), f5.6, 1/80.

828v7015-small

I still have a couple of pictures from my South Coast trip to post. Im actually going back down their tomorrow on a snorkling trip with my brother so they may have to wait. Til next time.

~ by adamrose on January 25, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
