Day 16 & 17 Te Anau to Lake Tekapo to Christchurch

Its been a long time since Ive been on a computer with both my photos and the internet.

Its finally time to wrap up the NZ sage and get on with the rest of life.  Lake Tekapo was our next stop. The day was looking pretty average and my opportunity to shoot the Church of the Good Sheperd (famous church) was looking unlikely. Not only was the light terrible getting a shot without tourists was ridiculously hard.

828V0554

The first shot I’ve posted was taken during this time of bad lighting which generally is better used as black and white photos. (1ds, 17-40, f8, 1/400). After waiting and hoping a chance occurred in the sky, the clouds were passing and an opportunity for the sun to poke underneath in the late afternoon looked hopeful. As luck would have it, light did get underneath and lit up the church beautifully, unfortunately it did little to get rid of the tourists. I did get some nice lighting shots but the one I like was slightly after the perfect lighting, and I ended up playing a little to get the nice sunlit church that I hoped for. This is my interpretation of what I saw that night. (1ds, 17-40, f8, 6 seconds).

828V0631-PS efforts tif3

The photo as my header was also taken that night and makes a lovely mountain line, taken in the gorgeous light of that evening. We were extremely lucky to get that light (and I think a little clever realising it may happen). Maegan also got some killer shots that day. The next morning was our last day of shooting and nothing overly spectacular was captured.

Coming up soon I will post some photos of one of my new favourite subjects nudibranchs and an old favourite orchids as well as a couple of odds and sodds from around the place.

~ by adamrose on September 16, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
