Mt Banks and Cattai NP outing

I think this will be one of multiple posts. On Friday last week Ben, Pip and myself went for an outing to the mountains. We went to my favourite location Mt Banks with the aim of spotting mountain heath dragons Rankinia diamensis. This turned out to be a fantastic day and we found some brilliant fauna, flora and food. This will end up being a multiple post outing. This first one being about the human side of things.

828V1091

The above picture was taken on the climb to Mount Banks (well at least as high as I go, as I dont think the full walk is worth while). (1ds, 17-40, f8, 1/500).  This is one of my favourite places to go. I love the variety of what you see and the fact its not a tourist centre piece. The next photo is taken in a pie shop called “Pie in the Sky”. The area (of which Im unsure of the name) is fantastic for fruit pies, particularly apples. We had an absolutely delicious pie straight out of the oven. I’ve eaten at many of these places but this one was particularly good. (1ds, 17-40, f4, 1/200, 400 iso). I also bought a chilli chutney here which was fantastic.

828V1056

To come are pictures of three orchids we found on this day and two species of dragons.

~ by adamrose on September 23, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
