Galston Gorge (Hornsby Heights) – Hyacinth Orchid

Dipodium punctatum, also known as the hyacinth orchid, grows around this time of the year. It is a quite a prolific orchid and is fairly easily spotted around dry sandstone ridges. This is a special flower in that the plant doesn’t have any leaves making it a saprophyte. The term saprophyte typically means that the organism relies on dead or decaying matter for food. Some scientists though disagree with this term in the field of botany and some call it myco-heterotrophs (myco – fungi, hetero – other, trophs – eats) suggesting that the orchids parasitise fungi for their energy. Regardless of this I still struggle to get a decent shot of this plant even though it was one of the first orchids I had found. Still I will post one anyways. (1ds, 17-40, f5.6, 1/320, iso 100)

828V1458

I am aiming to get down to Kurnell to go in search of an endangered orchid within the next month so hopefully I will have some photos to show of it. Unfortunately due to a couple of unpleasant issues I havent had the time I would like to take photos recently. I will try my best to rectify that soon. Also I have now begun a parallel blog aimed to be a quick recount of my dives. I have added a link on the left hand side of the page.

~ by adamrose on November 6, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
