Royal NP – Other

One of the highlights of my trip on the way down to the creek was an encounter with a juvenile Lace Monitor Varanus varius. This monitor was lying on a termite mount and occasionally giving it a scratch. It allowed me to get very close and I took a lot of photos. I missed a yawn when I first got there and waited half an hour only to very poorly capture its next. Instead I will post a later picture of this beautiful young animal. (30d, 180mm, f8, 1/400). Research done by the Univerity of Melbourne has recently suggested Varanus varius and other monitor species actually have a mild form of poison. It is suspected that many other species will as well.

The following photo is a very simple photo of an interesting rock by the creek. As you may have noticed Ive been playing with smaller apertures recently and loving the blur of the 180mm. This picture was taken above Winifred Falls. (30, 180mm, f3.5, 1/250).

The final picture is a quick one showing just some of the amazing flowers found down here. These pea flowers were everywhere. I am unsure of the species and where to start narrowing it down. Needless to say if I need another photo of one I know where to come. (1ds, 17-40, f8, 1/250) I love the way you can see the sun showing the harshness, in foreground are the amazing peas, and behind them one of the most beautiful species of tree the Smooth Barked Apples.

My next post will be again from KuRingGai Chase NP.

~ by adamrose on September 27, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
